Bring Balance to You Life: 6 Dimensions of Wellness

Being healthy requires more than going to the gym and eating right.

One must take a balanced approach and look at these six areas: Social, Emotional, Spiritual, Occupational, Intellectual, and Physical .

The National Wellness Institute, along with the help of leaders in health and wellness, shared many interpretations and models of wellness. Through this discussion, there appears to be general agreement that:

• Wellness is a conscious, self-directed and evolving process of achieving full potential

• Wellness is multi-dimensional and holistic, encompassing lifestyle, mental and spiritual well-being and the environment

• Wellness is positive and affirming

The definition of wellness, long used by the National Wellness Institute, is consistent with these tenets. “Wellness is an active process through which people become aware of, and make choices toward, a more successful existence.”

Social wellness encourages contributing to one’s environment and community. It emphasizes the interdependence between others and nature. Spending time with people who love and support us and share similar interests.

Emotional wellness is the awareness and acceptance of one’s feelings as well as accept the feelings of others. Emotional wellness includes ones ability to be in touch with one’s thoughts and feeling.

Spiritual wellness is about embracing the meta-physical and reaching beyond the physical life of existence and being connected to something greater than ourselves.

Occupational wellness includes personal satisfaction and enrichment in one’s life and work. Including appreciating natural resources and respecting the environment.

Intellectual wellness involves having an open mind and recognizes one’s creative, stimulating mental activities. A well person expands their knowledge and skills while discovering the potential for sharing their gifts and connecting with others.

Physical  includes regular consistent exercise and regular physical activity. It includes proper nutrition, sleeping well and avoiding harmful habits.

Take a moment to reflect on these six areas.  Which areas are you satisfied?  which area(s) would you like to change and why?  Write down what is it is you want and  3-4 steps you can take to make that happen.

For example:  I want to spend more time with my family.

Step 1: limit technology use in the home

Step 2: Plan and schedule time to do thins together: hike on Saturday at 9:00 a.m.

Step 3: Make meal times family time. Prepare and enjoy the meal together.

Step 4: Organize and schedule a movie or game night.

Posted by Kris Szabo

Wife, Mother, Holistic Health & Wellness Coach. Passionate about eating healthy, living well, and sharing the joy that makes life great. This site has been designed to help Create a Healthier, Happier You! Follow for health and wellness information. Hope you Eat Well, Love Passionately, and Laugh Often.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *